The Town of Cobourg presents Canada's Largest
Commemoration of the Centennial of the WWI Armistice
Armistice '18: September 21 - November 11, 2018
You have to see where we came from to see where we're going! Come with us and enjoy the ride.
History Revisited catsmedia
Built 1827 18 Spencer St.
Cobourg’s oldest surviving house retaining its original exterior, this fine house was built by the area’s first sheriff, John Kelly Spencer, a United Empire Loyalist.
Built 1832 100 University Ave. E.
This handsome Greek Revival structure with its Doric-columned portico, temple details and tall cupola was opened by the Wesleyan Methodists as a school in 1836. It was originally called Upper Canada Academy.
Marie Dressler House
Built 1848 212 King St. W.
This handsome Ontario cottage, long known as the birthplace of Oscar-winning actress Marie Dressler, has been completely restored and contains memorabilia and video clips on the actress’ life and career.
Built 1860 55 King St. W.
The visual culmination of Cobourg’s early aspirations to become the province’s leading city is Cobourg’s municipal building, the center of political, legal and cultural life of the town for over 150 years. It stands as a testament of the drive of the town’s forebears.
Robert Mulholland House
Built 1878 202 Church St.
One of Cobourg’s most architecturally exuberant houses, this ‘Tuscan Villa’ house was built for Robert Mulholland, a merchant who made a small fortune in western land and grain speculation.
Built 1901 7 Fitzhugh Lane
Built by American General Charles Lane Fitzhugh, Ravensworth was inspired by a family plantation of the same name in Virginia. Changing hands several times over the years, it’s recently underwent a thoughtful revitalization to preserve its full beauty.